Association of Physiologists of India

National Conference of Physiological Sciences

“Physiology Decodes Novelty of Vascular Sciences”

Pre-conference: Students ASSOPICON 2016 Chief Guest – Prof. H.A. Ranganath (IISc)

Undergraduate Science Congress on Health Sciences – 14th Sep 2016

UG Students Workshop on Research Methodology

Proceeding of ASSOPICON 2016

Pre-Conference : Workshop on “Publishing research paper in a PubMed indexed journal” on 14th September 2016

Conference: 15th Sep – 17th Sep 2016 Chief Guest – Dr. Shashi Bala Singh (DIPAS / DRDO)

Venue: Shri B. M. Patil Medical College,Hospital And Research Center, Vijayapura

Guest Speakers: Prof. H.A. Ranganath (IISc) | T.R. Raju (NIMHANS) | S. Pyne (PHFI) | Ishwar Basavaraddi (AYUSH) | Dr. Shashi Bala Singh (DIPAS / DRDO) | M.S. Pal (DIPAS / DRDO, Delhi) | S.M. Shivaprasad (JNCSAR)…View more

Pre Conference Students ASSOPICON-2016 – Photo Gallery

Welcome Note

Dear Colleagues/Friends

It is our immense pleasure to invite you to ASSOPICON-2016 on “Physiology Decodes Novelty of Vascular Sciences”, being organized by the Department of Physiology, BLDE University’s Shri B M Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre, Vijayapura.

BLDE University is amongst the reputed universities in Karnataka providing education in various medical courses. Housed in a sprawling campus at Vijayapura in Karnataka, it was declared a University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, and approved by the Ministry of Human Resource Development. It has been established under the BLDE Association, a renowned educational society, running more than 75 institutions in the state. The Constituent College of the University, Shri B M Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre, Bijapur, was established in the year 1986, by the BLDE Association (Bijapur Liberal Development Education Association).

The University is established under the patronage of Shri M. B. Patil, President of BLDE Association, Vijayapura

Outline of the Programme

  • Vascular Physiology
  • Neuroscience Research
  • Advances in Endocrine & Reproductive Physiology
  • Yoga, Sports & Exercise Physiology
  • Ergonomical Approach in Work and Environment
  • Nutrition
  • Cancer Biology
  • Biotechnology in Physiological Research
  • Genomics and Proteomics in Physiology
  • High Altitude & Desert Physiology
  • Respiratory Physiology/Medicine
  • Immunology & Microbiology in Health and Disease
  • Teaching of Physiology
  • Toxicology & Drug Development
  • Industrial Pharmacology
  • Nanoscience
  • Sight seeing help desk available at registration counter
  • Limited Accommodation available on site for UG and PG students on first cum first serve basis.

The Department

The department of Physiology was established in the year 1986 with undergraduate course. The department was recognized for postgraduate course in the year 1996. The intake of MBBS seats is 150 and for post graduate courses – 4 MD and 2 PhD seats/guide. The department also runs MSc (Medical physiology) course.

Department has a multidisciplinary research laboratory i.e., ‘Laboratory of Vascular Physiology & Medicine”. This laboratory is working extensively on Experimental Physiology and Clinical Physiology/Medicine research. The Laboratory was formally inaugurated on 15th December 2015, by Prof. Robert G. Carroll (East Carolina University, NC, USA) & Prof. Dewan S.A. Majid (Tulane University, New Orleans, USA).

This laboratory has all the modern sophisticated instruments and equipment for human and animal experiments. The Electrophysiology unit of the vascular lab has established rodent cerebral ischemic model and exclusively dedicated to hypoxia and vascular sciences research on both human & rodents.

Read more about Physiology department

For any query please write us at:

ASSOPI Awards – 2016

Sl.No. Recipient of the award Name of the Award
1 Prof. Shivaprasad S.Goudar

KLEU, Belgaum

Prof. A. S. Paintal Award  for best research work in any branch of Physiology

2 Prof. K. Ravi

V.P. Chest Institute, Delhi

Dr. Artatran Nanda Memorial Award  for Respiratory Physiology

3 Prof. B. S. Shankarnarayan Rao

NIMHANS, Bangalore

Prof. S. B. Deshpande Award for Neuroscience

4 Ms. Indumathy Jagadeeswaran

JIPMER, Puducherry

Prof. G. K. Pal Award for Cardiovascular Physiology

5 Dr. Rajkumar Yadav

AIIMS, New Delhi

Ram Murty Smarak Award for Yoga & Naturopathy


6 Prof. Kusal K. Das

 BLDEU, Vijayapur

Shri  S. N. Chaudary Memorial Award for Environmental Physiology

Registration Fee

Faculty Rs. 4000
Associate Member Rs. 3000
PG/Ph.D Student Rs. 2500
UG Student Rs. 500
Spot registration Rs. 5000

Contact Us

Dr. Manjunath Aithala
Organizing Secretary

Dr. Lata. M. Mullur
Joint Organizing Secretary

International Advisory Board

  • Prof. Robert G Carroll (USA)
  • Prof. Noorjahan Begam (Bangladesh)
  • Prof. Arif Siddiqui (Pakistan)
  • Prof. Sharein Fernando (Srilanka)
  • Dr. Rita Khatkar (Nepal)
  • Dr. Karmapa Tenzin (Bhutan)
  • Prof. L.Gabriel Navar (USA)
  • Prof. D.S.A Majid (USA)
  • Dr. Sikha Saha (UK)
  • Prof. John F B Morrison (UK)
  • Prof. Hwee Cheng Ming (Malaysia)
  • Prof. Benedito H Nachado (Brazil)

National Advisory Board

  • Dr. Shashi Bala Singh (New Delhi)
  • Pof. K K Deepak (New Delhi)
  • Dr. Amar K Chandra (Kolkatta)
  • Prof K Ravi (New Delhi)
  • Dr. Sandhya Avadhani (Bengaluru)
  • Dr. S.V. Brid (Bagalkot)
  • Prof. Mohmad Fahim

Target Audience

  • Faculty members of Physiology in Medical, Dental, Ayurveda Universities, etc.
  • Researchers in Physiology & Allied Sciences (Biochemistry/Mol. Biology/Clinical Chemistry)
  • Pharmacists
  • Scientists/Biologists
  • Doctors
  • Postgraduate students MD/MSc in Physiology
  • Undergraduate Students.

For Souvenir/ Proceedings, following are the charges

Full 50,000/- 25,000/-
Half 25,000/- 15,000/-
Quarter 10,000/-
Cover back page 1,00,000/-
Stalls [for all 4 days] 30,000/-